Friday, May 24, 2024

Editor’s Note: Kudos To 2010 Southern Corn Contest Winners

CS Oct 10 CoverBy Carroll Smith

For nearly half a century, according to the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA), the NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre. In recent years, more and more South-ern corn farmers are participating, so I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the first-place state winners for representing our region so well.

Non-irrigated: Jesse More, AL, 182.2287; George Williamson, AR, 197.4047; Jane Smith, GA, 220.2277; Joseph Kent, LA, 217.8090; Reality Partnership II, MS, 194.8997; Hill Brothers Farms, TN, 235.6982.

No-till, strip-till, non-irrigated: Tate Farms, AL, 204.7438; Stan Haigwood, AR, 208.0416; Roy J. Classen, FL, 170.0214; Jerry Smith, GA, 224.5242; Danny Schexnayder, LA, 245.5770; Mark Oswalt, MS, 232.3873; Justin Woodall, TN, 246.6729.

No-till, strip-till, irrigated: Tate Farms, AL, 218.7276; WMA Farms Partnership, AR, 229.3190; Jimmy Murphy, FL, 241.0573; Randy Dowdy, GA, 278.9515; Wesley Moroni, LA, 227.4500; Mid-South Family Farms, MS, 215.8467; Verell Farms, TN, 260.1776.

Ridge-till, non-irrigated: Mike Dee, AL, 142.8478; Stan Haigwood, AR, 168.8533; Ray Schexnayder, LA, 234.5090; Marley Oswalt, MS, 242.9246; Brenda Tanner, TN, 231.4832.

Ridge-till, irrigated: Perry Galloway, AR, 260.1156; Stan Murphy, FL, 240.5064; Champion Groves Farm, GA, 223.4166; Ken Fairchild, LA, 245.6253; Scott Hunter, MS, 236.5836; Hopper Farms, TN, 231.9251.

Irrigated: Tate Farms, AL, 240.7726; Kevin Murray, AR, 286.2004; Sidney Doon, FL, 228.9970; Shane Rhodes, GA, 261.4960; Boyce Miller, LA, 242.2215; Jeremy Jack, MS, 264.6430; Mud Lake Planting, TN, 255.1954.

Winners will be recognized in the NCYC Corn Yield Guide and will receive cash trips or other rewards from sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. NCGA notes, “In Tampa, Fla., during the 2011 Commodity Classic, state winners will be presented awards at the NCYC breakfast, and national winners will receive awards at the Awards Banquet.”

To view the entire list of state and national winners, please visit

If you have comments, send them to Corn South, 5118 Park Ave., Suite 111, Memphis, Tenn., 38117. You may also call (800) 888-9784 or contact Lia Guthrie at or Carroll Smith at

Related Articles

Connect With Corn South

E-News Sign-up